C. A. Casey

Another worthless writers blog

New Strings and a Shine

Posted by Casey on November 13, 2007

blueguitar.jpg

Watermelon Music in Davis, California does a cool thing once a year. They have a restring clinic for guitars, ukeleles, and mandolins with free strings donated by D’Addario. They polish your instrument and put on the new strings in exchange for a non-perishable food item for the Yolo County Food Bank.

I showed up early with my blue guitar and I’m glad I did because by the time my instrument was shiny with new strings, the line was out the door in a light rain no less.

I enjoy visiting Davis. It’s a small college town with beautiful tree lined streets and a really cool downtown. They also have a Food Coop where I can buy things I can’t get anywhere else. I grew up in a town like this and I always feel a bit nostalgic when I go there, especially on overcast cool fall days like Saturday.

Leave a Reply

 
