C. A. Casey

Another worthless writers blog

Of Hail and Backgammon

Posted by Casey on September 21, 2007

It rained only once in the last four months. Then last night a storm blew in. First it was a hail storm that lasted longer than most hailstorms and then pouring rain that I guess is not at all common this time of year here.

hail1.jpg hail2.jpgrain1.jpg

We need all the rain we can get. The drought conditions here are critical and it doesn’t take anything to spark a fire in the dry dry fields.

So what does one do on a stormy night? The ancient game of backgammon. Remember my introduction to Scrabble? Well, it turns out I’m not very good at it. It clashes with my right-brained perception of words and letters and my lack of motivation to actually win.

So we tried backgammon. I used to play backgammon with someone who had an IQ of 144 back when I was in grad school at the University of Illinois. Accompaniments to these games was usually Pappa Del’s or Willie’s pizza and beer. Backgammon does not involve words, just visualization and conceptualizing. It does include counting and my right brain can be rather fluid about that, but all and all a better game for me. I’ve actually won a few games, sans pizza or the beer.

backgammon2.jpg

One Response to “Of Hail and Backgammon”

  1. Claudia said

    I like Scrabble better than Backgammon only because Backgammon is a game of chance… well, more chance than Scrabble letters.

Leave a Reply

 
