C. A. Casey

Another worthless writers blog

That Potter Kid

Posted by Casey on July 22, 2007

I guess the next Harry Potter movie is playing on half the screens of the multi-plex near you and all the bookstores had to re-enforce their floors for the hundreds of copies of the two pound last book in the series.

I guess you can tell from my tone that I’m not one of the excited followers of Harry Potter. Fantasy is my favorite genre to read, but a certain type of fantasy–swords, warriors, grit, realism. Harry Potter is not my cup of tea. I can take highly exaggerated British whimsy and eccentricity only so far. I tried to read the first book but got bored three-quarters of the way through and really had problems with the writing.

I’ve seen all the movies, except the most recent one. I’ll most likely see it some time. I absolutely hated the last movie–sorry, I don’t know enough about the series to remember its name. In fact, I can’t even remember anything about it, except it was excruciating to watch and I couldn’t wait to get out of the theater.

Now, on the other hand, I enjoyed the movie with the map–mostly set in winter. I loved the look of it and the distinctive European feel that came from the director.

So I hope the series ends in a satisfactory manner for all you fans. I’m sure Rowling is relieved that she never has to write another word about Mr. Potter and his world. And she never has to write another word or do anything else that resembles work ever again. It must be nice to be the first person to become a billionaire from writing books.

potterbooks.jpg

2 Responses to “That Potter Kid”

  1. Claudia said

    I answered this but it disappeared…

  2. Casey said

    Magic, I guess . . .

Leave a Reply

 
