C. A. Casey

Another worthless writers blog

Okay, okay

Posted by Casey on July 6, 2007

I know I should to be posting links to my latest articles on the Monarchs. I haven’t brought myself to reading them yet. I’m beginning to dread the little surprises the editor can’t resist adding.

Also the thermometer outside the door says 114 degrees. My internal circuitry starts to malfunction at 105 degrees.

In the meantime, I ran across this:

Your computer: In Irish! [As Gaeilge!]

Brings back memories for me. A friend and I spent the summer between high school and college teaching ourselves Irish. Yeah, I hung out with a wild and crazy bunch. She went on to live in Cambodia helping refugees find relatives, helping rid the country of violence, and fighting human trafficking. I, well, never mind.

This is all I remember from our lessons. I also took the opportunity to try out a new piece of audio software. Works quite nice:

Tá an bóthar díreach

It means “the road is straight.” The book we used was filled with all kinds of useful phrases like that. Another one–and I can’t remember the Irish for it– was “The men are breaking stones on the road.” I never knew my ancestors had such an obsession with roads.

bridge.jpg

2 Responses to “Okay, okay”

  1. Claudia said

    Nice cool 72 degrees at my place….Got NBA TV too.

  2. Casey said

    Well, it’s a lot cooler inside than outside. I also have NBA TV. Wish a more exciting game was on. The only good thing about it is, if Indiana wins, they’ll be number one in the East and Detroit will be number two.

Leave a Reply

 
