C. A. Casey

Another worthless writers blog

Weekend

Posted by Casey on June 30, 2007

It’s Saturday morning and I’m writing the report for last night’s Sacramento loss to the Chicago Sky. The game was hard fought and went into double overtime, but one Sky player, Jia Perkins decided to have the game of her life and it’s hard to win against that kind of force of nature.

The full moon is playing more havoc than usual this month–I lost my game notebook on the way home last night and I have to write the report without my notes. Just my luck that there was no tv coverage and no video highlights for the game to remind me of all those notes I take on key plays and interesting incidents. The problem is not remembering these things, but remembering when they happened in the game because I like to summarize the games quarter by quarter.

BJ was at the game. She actually scored tickets in the front row right behind the scorers’ table, so she was in the restricted section and was able to walk right up to me and say “hi.” Today’s the last regular season game for her team, the Sacramento Sirens. They have to win this one to go to the playoffs, so I’m sending good vibes to Santa Rosa as they face the Scorchers who had handed them their only loss of the season.

Here’s the report for the game against the New York Liberty. Again, I’m not real happy with some of the things the editor did. I’m being too nice. I’m really irritated with some of the things the editor did with it . . .

Monarchs Torch the Liberty

. . . Got to go find another cat to put on my shoulder. Here kitty, kitty . . .

tiger.jpg

2 Responses to “Weekend”

  1. Claudia said

    Sirens lose one and have to win last game for playoffs?? So SR has the same record?

  2. Casey said

    I only report the news, not make it. That’s what BJ told me.

Leave a Reply

 
