C. A. Casey

Another worthless writers blog

My Bit to Help the Environment

Posted by Casey on April 26, 2007

I’m vegan. ‘Nuff said.

Cries of warnings that we have to take care of the environment have ebbed and flowed for decades. Everyone’s talking about solar power, wind power, biofuels, green this and green that and while I’ve been green-minded all my life and am ready to try them all, I’m yelling at the tv, “why not go vegan?”

I know it’s not a popular suggestion and I wondered if anyone had actually done studies on the environmental impact of vegans. We vegans know that it takes more of everything to raise animals than to grow plants for human consumption. Most of those crops you see in the fields you drive by are going to be fed to animals that land on your dinner plate, rather than on you plate as food and in your gas tank as biofuel. It’s something to really think about.

Personally, being vegan is great. I don’t have indigestion, constipation, chronic health problems. I don’t get head-aches or acid reflux like I used to. I don’t have cravings because a vegan diet balances the blood sugar. I have lots of energy and, physically, I feel like a kid . . . I wish I had become vegan years ago. And, by the way, I don’t like tofu. Being vegan is about eating real food that happens to be plants. We just don’t consume anything that comes from an animal.

I found some articles and research on why going vegan (or even vegetarian) is good for the environment, in case anyone is curious.

Celebrate Earth Day By Going Vegan

The environment-conscious carnivore?

Food for Thought About Global Warming

http://www.activeg.org/articles/437.html

http://vegetarian.about.com/od/vegetarianvegan101/f/fossilfuels.htm

govegan.jpg

Leave a Reply

 
