C. A. Casey

Another worthless writers blog

No Fooling

Posted by Casey on April 1, 2007

Ah, it’s April first. While other people play practical jokes on each other, I’ll be watching the Final game of the women’s Euroleague. Go Spartak Moscow Region!

I’ll also be watching the Women’s NCAA Final Four. Go . . . uh, let’s just say my team went out early in a shocking upset.

harley.jpg

But I also get to celebrate one of life’s little victories. My story “Harleys in Driftwood” is in the current issue of The Lorelei Signal.

I love the origins of this particular story. When I worked at Washington State University, a colleague’s hobby was to make sculpture out of pieces of driftwood. One year he had an exhibit of his work in the student union. The centerpiece of the exhibition was a full size Harley fashioned from driftwood. It was the most beautiful and amazing thing I’d ever seen. I told him that I was going to write a story about it someday.

gnarlyharley.jpg

Leave a Reply

 
