C. A. Casey

Another worthless writers blog

Super What?

Posted by Casey on February 6, 2007

Okay that football game is over.

My favorite part. Prince. He hasn’t age at all. Kind of scary.

Don’t get me wrong about the game. I love sports. I just don’t get football. At all. Even when I make an effort to understand the rules. Actually, I get it even less when I understand the rules.

I simply don’t get its appeal.

I admit a bias to watching women play sports. When I found out there was a professional women’s football league in my area, I decided to go to the games. The season starts at the end of April. I hope the games don’t collide with the Sacramento Monarchs schedule.

Sacramento Monarchs, Seattle Storm, women’s basketball in general . . . Well, let’s just say that’s where my sports obsession lives and breathes.

And tennis.

Tennis has been my comfort food for as long as I can remember. I still see in my mind’s eye Jan Kodes winning Wimbledon in 1973 because the major players boycotted the championship that year. I have no idea why I’ve remembered that all these years. Something about the drama surrounding that particular Wimbledon and the fact that Kodes would have never had a chance to win if the likes of Rod Laver and John Newcombe or Ken Rosewell had been playing.

Now if you want to see a super game. Women’s basketball. Thursday February 8th ESPN2 7:00 Eastern time:

Duke vs. North Carolina — numbers 1 and 2 and the only undefeated teams left.

Can’t wait for that one.

Leave a Reply

 
