C. A. Casey

Another worthless writers blog

Scammers, Plagiarism and Witchcraft, Oh My

Posted by Casey on October 17, 2007

What happens when a blogger exposes a really stupid case of plagiarism? Well, a major drama filled with ever changing excuses, threats of lawsuits, and witchy curses. Not to mention a lot of entertaining comments from the literary peanut gallery.

My favorite part of this whole thing is when the scamming agent wants to sue the blogger, Jane (a lawyer), for exposing the plagiarism.

Jane emailed the agent with: “I don’t understand why you are emailing me. If you have a lawsuit, have your attorney contact me.”

To which the agent replied: “Don’t worry, when the papers are ready, you will hear from him, trust me. We had no clue this person [the author of the work that was ripped off] or his books existed until last week when YOU posted it. I asked you not to and YOU did, now we have this huge explosion going on and it started with YOU.”

In other words, she wants to sue Jane for publicly spilling the beans that the Prologue of the book Of Atlantis is actually the opening pages of Dark Prince by David Gemmell.

Her myopic stupidity leaves me speechless.

It all starts here . . .

Top 10 Tips for Plagiarists

continues to here . . .

Victoria Strauss — Christopher Hill Redux

and is discussed in greater detail here . . .

Weirdly Similar…

and more as the comments spill into October 17th . . .

How to Fling About Legal Insults Like a Lawyer, Part 1 of Many Parts

plagiarism.jpg

3 Responses to “Scammers, Plagiarism and Witchcraft, Oh My”

  1. Claudia said

    um… wow…

  2. Janine said

    Actually, it wasn’t the scamming agent who sent those threatening letters to Jane, it was Lanaia Lee, who hired that agent and who claimed she wrote what was actually Gemmell’s writing.

  3. Casey said

    Hi Janine,
    I got the above exchange from comment 284 to Top 10 Tips for Plagiarists:

    Jane
    Posted: Oct 15th, 2007 at 3:35 pm
    My response:

    Ms. Pillsbury:

    I don’t understand why you are emailing me. If you have a lawsuit, have your attorney contact me. If not, why email me? I really don’t understand why I am the cause of the “pain and suffering” since all I did was point out that the material your client still has posted at her site is a word for word copying of David Gemmell’s work.

    As I explained to Ms. Lee, she would need to identify the specific statements that are objectionable because I do not find anything that I have written to be outside the bounds of either civil or criminal laws.

    Jane Litte

    http://dearauthor.com

    and Ms. Pillsbury’s response:

    Because you are accusing the wrong person, you should do a search and find Mr. Hill. He did it, not Lanaia Lee. Don’t worry, when the papers are ready, you will hear from him, trust me. We had no clue this person or his books existed until last week when YOU posted it. I asked you not to and YOU did, now we have this huge explosion going on and it started with YOU.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

